School difficulties and heartbreak? I can help you get your self-esteem back

Have you (or your loved one) lost your self-esteem when it comes to learning? Oh gosh, so had so many of my students and clients. How does that happen? It happens painful failure after painful failure. You feel as though you have DONE EVERYTHING to prepare, and come up short. Or perhaps peers, loved ones, or even teachers have made fun of you or put you down. They have helped to create a toxic environment for you in the classroom and in your heart. Oh gosh, it hurts a lot, doesn’t it? But guess what! They cannot have the final lap of the race. They cannot even have the next lap. The next lap, and the next step belong completely to you.

You may ask how can that be? Well first of all, we need to take a multi=pronged approach. Perhaps there is some sort of underlying learning problem or disability. Understand me here. Discovering whether or not there is does not me it is hopeless if, for instance, you are dyslexic. Nope. It only means there are learning methods and strategies out there that can help you succeed beyond your wildest dreams.

How can I be 100% sure that you can learn? You have already learned more than you realize. You learned to communicate in your native language, learned to walk, learned self-care, learned how to get yourself in a learning situation. The rest is just going to be learning the skill called “learning how to learn”. We can work together, you and I. I can direct you to resources in your part of the community that can help you, id addition to the help I can give you.

The key to all of it, though is in your heart. You see, you are here for a wonderful purpose. I do not know how big you have dreamed. I do not know what area of life captures your interest right now. Maybe you are so far down that you think you have no talent or interest. But you see, we need to tend to your spark. Learning is a life skill that is not just confined to classroom situations. If you feel that the classroom has become a fearful or toxic place, there are many solutions to that. 

Here is one thing to think about. I believe that the key to your success is to consider, for instance, what subject you like best. Then in order to learn the other subjects, we need to determine how to make those subjects feel like the subject you like the best. I hope that you will comment here if you want to communicate with me.

I believe in your future, and I can help you find additional resources in your world that help you succeed. I am working on creating some workshops and other resources. Let me know what would capture your interest!

~ kate

About Kate Kresse

I love to write, I love to talk, I love to uplift people when I can. I am a woman in love with life. I am a wife, mom, tutor, writer, and I am a perennial optimist. (OK not every single minute but you get the point! :-)
This entry was posted in confidence, tutoring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment